Evening Song

2011 saw the release of “Evening Song”, the long-awaited follow-up to “Dawn’.

Like the first CD, this second release collects some of the choir’s
favourite pieces of recent years. A notable inclusion is “The Storm
Cone”, by Melbourne composer Tim McKenry, premiered by the choir in
2008, and now recorded for the first time. In addition, the CD
contains a vast array of music, including compositions by Handel,
Arcadelt, Kodaly, Stephen Leek and Morten Lauridsen; traditional songs
from China, Spain, Kenya, South Africa and Israel; and jazz and gospel
songs. The cover of the CD features a painting by local artist Bev

The CD is available for $20. Please contact us if you wish to order a copy.

Track listing:

False Sir John (Daniel Burton)

If Ye Love Me (Thomas Tallis)

O My Luve’s Like A Red Red Rose (Rene Clausen)

Erev Shel Shoshanim (Josef Hadar arr Jack Klebanow)

Dirait-on (Morten Lauridsen)

Mwo Li Hwa (Jing Ling Tam)

Into the Sky (Malcolm Dalglish)

Sigalagala (S A Otieno)

Il Bianco e Dolce Cigno (Jacques Arcadelt)

Weep O Mine Eyes (John Bennet)

A Litany (Robin John King)

The Storm Cone (Timothy McKenry)

Dubula (Stephen Hatfield)

Evening Song (Zoltan Kodaly)

Ngana (Stephen Leek)

Autumn Leaves (Joseph Kosma arr Paris Rutherford)

Adijo Kerida (Joshua Jacobson)

Ipharadisi (Jerry Ulrich)

Shout Glory (Byron J Smith)

Singers: Cherie Baxter, Louise Booth, Sally Dougall, Curtis Easton,
Angus Golding, Jen Hitchman, Laura Lane, Kerrie Loveless, Gamila
MacRury, Stephanie Monk, Danielle Negri, Mick O’Brien, Katrina
O’Leary, Anton Pergl, Erin Ryan, Jay Van Dongen, Caitlin Webb

Conductor: Simon Loveless

Additional Instrumentalists: Sue Goessling, Elizabeth O’Leary,
Charlotte O’Leary, Mark O’Leary

Cover Painting: Bev Pergl